Welcome to AZPOINT
Welcome to AZPOINT, the Arizona Protective Order Initiation and Notification Tool. Through an interview in this portal, you can quickly fill out the forms that you need to ask for an Order of Protection at an Arizona court. IMPORTANT: There is NO FEE to use AZPOINT. AZPOINT is made available to the public by the Arizona Judicial Branch, in partnership with the Arizona Criminal Justice Commission.
An Order of Protection is a court order that is issued to stop a person from committing domestic violence or from contacting other people protected by the order. The portal will also help you figure out whether you (the plaintiff) and the person from whom you are seeking protection (the defendant) have a qualifying relationship for an Order of Protection.*
You may also use this portal if you're asking for protection on behalf of another person--either (1) a minor of whom you are the parent, guardian, or legal custodian or (2) an adult who is temporarily or permanently unable to request an order.
*If you do not have a qualifying relationship for an Order of Protection, you may be eligible to apply for an Injunction Against Harassment. You must be able to allege one instance of sexual violence OR at least two incidents during the past year during which the defendant harassed you. Victims of certain types of crimes may also be eligible for Injunctions Against Harassment. In such a case, the defendant must have been convicted of a dangerous offense as defined in ARS 13-105, a serious offense or violent or aggravated felony as defined in ARS 13-706, or any offense in Title 13, Chapter 14, or Title 13, Chapter 35.1.
*If you are an employer seeking protection of your business or employees, you may apply for an Injunction Against Workplace Harassment based on a single act or a series of acts of harassment.
Your information will be saved in this portal for up to 90 days. At any time during this 90-day period, you may take the next step of filing your petition at an Arizona court. Until you file your petition at a court, you will be able to return here to update your information if necessary.
You are encouraged to speak to a victim advocate before you file your petition. An advocate can help you make a safety plan and give you more information about how an Order of Protection works and how it will be served on the defendant.
Finding a victim advocate
Getting help with your case
Only an attorney who is licensed in Arizona can give you legal advice. To find an attorney, contact:
Find more resources at...
Filing your petition
To complete the process of asking for an Order of Protection, you must file your petition with an Arizona court.
IMPORTANT: Please contact the court to find out what procedures have been implemented for telephonic or video hearings in response to COVID-19.
AVISO IMPORTANTE: Comuníquese con el tribunal para averiguar qué procedimientos se han establecido para celebrar audiencias por teléfono o videoconferencia debido al COVID-19.
Please have your petition confirmation number available so court staff can start your case. You may file with a justice of the peace court, a city court, or a superior court. (Click here to find Arizona courts.) Until you file your petition, it has no legal effect. After you file your petition, you will have to speak to a judge. The judge will decide whether there's a legal basis to issue a protective order.
Service of an Order of Protection
If the judge issues the Order of Protection, the court will send a copy of it and your petition to law enforcement (city police, county sheriff, or constable) for service on the defendant. You can help this process by providing information on the most likely places where the defendant can be served. Questions you’ll be asked in AZPOINT will help collect this information. If law enforcement has not been able to serve the order within 15 days, you may be asked to give the law enforcement agency more information about the defendant.
If you are asking for an Injunction Against Harassment or an Injunction Against Workplace Harassment, you—not the court—must arrange for service of the injunction, if the judge issues it. The court will give you information on how to arrange for service of the injunction. If the injunction is based on a dating relationship or sexual violence, there is no fee for service. Ask the court about fee deferral or waiver if you cannot afford to pay a fee for service. The court will decide whether you are eligible for a fee deferral or waiver.